Blog Gigs Facts Music Shop Links
home >  blog :  current /  archive /  RSS Feed

Blog: Group Think

< previous next >
There's been a HEATED DEBATE this morning on The Validators' email accounts. When i say heated, I mean "gently warming" rather than rife with rage, as we have been discussing the contents of our new EP, "A Fridge Full Of Nice Things".

Just in case anybody's been keeping score, yes, that WAS originally going to be the title of the album, which before that was supposed to be called "Mental Judo". However, as the song "Never Going Back To Aldi's", which features "A Fridge Full Of Nice Things" in its lyrics, is now going to be on the EP and NOT the album, it seemed best to move things around. The album, in case I haven't mentioned it before, is now going to be called "WE VALIDATE!"

I'm starting to confuse MYSELF now... anyway, we have been discussing tracks to go onto it, and the VALUE FOR MONEY effects of the songs we choose. Currently the tracklisting is as follows:
  • Better Things To Do
  • Leave My Brother Alone
  • Sod It, Let's Get Pissed
  • Never Going Back To Aldi's
  • The Other Rush Hour
  • I was a little worried about VFM as "Better Things To Do" will be on the album, "Never Going Back To Aldi's" has already been on the free Christmas CD, and the ORIGINAL version of "Sod It Let's Get Pissed" is on "Warriors Of Nanpantan". We were thus discussing trying to get into a studio to record some EXTRA stuff, somehow, when Rob suggested putting a whole OTHER EP of BONUS TRACKS on the CD-R EXTRAS section - the long mentioned but little heard "ZIPCODES" Cassette!

    Again, for those not taking notes, this is a set of songs I recorded nearly a year ago for Popgun Recordings in America, who have stopped doing much, it seems, for the time being. This strikes me as A REALLY GOOD IDEA - the songs are there WAITING to get out, it's MUCHO added value for all concerned, and putting them on the EXTRAS section means they don't collide SONICALLY with the main tracks. The tracklisting for THESE would therefore be:
  • Sod It, Let's Get Pissed
  • Closer To You
  • Born Yesterday
  • Hey William
  • If You Need Loving
  • Zipcodes
  • All I need to do now is record an ACOUSTICAL version of "Sod It, Let's Get Pissed" in the Exciting New Arrangement I was on about the other day, and we are GO! for LAUNCH!

    Well, we've got to get it all mastered too, and get the artwork done, and manufacture it, and work out how the publicity's going to work, and see if we're going to do shop distribution, and sort out tour dates, but other than THAT we're practically DONE! HOOP-LA!

    posted 21/2/2006 by MJ Hibbett

    < previous next >


    Your Comment:
    Your Name:
    SPAMBOT FILTER: an animal that says 'oink' (3)

    (e.g. for an animal that says 'cluck' type 'hen')

    Twitter /  Bandcamp /  Facebook /  Instagram /  Mastodon
    Click here to visit the Artists Against Success website An Artists Against Success Presentation